Doubling of the line Pétange-Luxembourg

​The aim of the project is to increase capacity on the railway line in view of the increase in passenger services between Luxembourg and Pétange and beyond to Virton (Belgium) and Longwy (France) respectively.

The double line was put into service on 5th November 2012. Since 9th December 2012, 99 trains per day are running on the line, as opposed to 49 trains before its de-doubling. A reserve capacity was also created for freight trains, this in case of incidents on the Pétange-Esch-Luxembourg line.

                      

The project also aimed the improvement of the regularity and safety on the line as well as the improvement of services to passengers, in particular those with reduced mobility.

 

The following works were carried out:

    • renewal of the existing track and construction of a second track over a length of 18.1 km;
  • complete renewal of all existing electric traction installations and equipment for the new track in the 2x25 kV 50 Hz system;
  • improvement of the safety on the line by fitting the tracks with the ETCS system (European Train Control System);
  • complete reconstruction of the stops in Bascharage-Sanem, Schouweiler, Dippach-Reckange and Leudelange. These train stops now have ecological P&R parking facilities, bike shelters and parking places for motorcycles.
  • the 5 crossings existing on the line have been abolished or will shortly be abolished;
  • 44 bridges and aqueducts have been reconstructed, adapted or enlarged, of which 3 large projects spanning the A13 (Collectrice du Sud), A6 (Luxembourg - Belgium) and A4 (Luxembourg-Esch-sur-Alzette) motorways;
  • noise barriers have been put up all along the line.

                      

The double track is operational at present, but related works continue.

Mise à double voie intégrale de la ligne de Pétange à Luxembourg

L'objet du projet est d'augmenter la capacité de la ligne ferroviaire en vue d'un renforcement de la desserte voyageurs entre Luxembourg et Rodange et au-delà en direction respectivement de Virton (B) et de Longwy (F).

La mise en service technique de la double voie a eu lieu en date du 5 novembre 2012. Depuis le 9 décembre 2012, 99 trains par jour circulent en semaine sur la ligne, contre 49 trains avant la mise à double voie. En outre, une capacité de réserve a été créée pour les trains de marchandises en cas d'incident sur la ligne Pétange – Esch – Bettembourg.

                      

De plus, le projet visait l'amélioration de la régularité et de la sécurité du trafic sur la ligne ainsi que l'accueil de la clientèle, notamment des personnes à mobilité réduite.

 

Travaux réalisés :

  • renouvellement de la voie existante et construction d'une deuxième voie sur une longueur de 18,1 km;
  • renouvellement complet de toutes les installations de traction électrique existantes et équipement de la nouvelle voie dans le système 2x25 kV 50 Hz;
  • dans le cadre de l'augmentation de la sécurité des circulations, équipement de la ligne avec le système ETCS (European Train Control System);
  • reconstruction intégrale des arrêts de Bascharage-Sanem, Schouweiler, Dippach-Reckange et Leudelange. Ces arrêts disposent maintenant d'aires de stationnement P&R du type écologique, d'abris à vélos et d'emplacement pour motocyclettes.
  • les cinq passages à niveau existants sur la ligne ont été supprimés ou vont l'être;
  • 44 ponts et aqueducs ont été reconstruits, voire adaptés ou élargis, dont trois grands ouvrages enjambant les autoroutes A13 (Collectrice du Sud), A6 (Luxembourg-Belgique) et A4 (Luxembourg-Esch/Alzette);
  • des écrans acoustiques sont mis en œuvre le long de la voie de la ligne.

                      

Actuellement la double voie est opérationnelle, mais les travaux connexes se poursuivent.