Construction of a de-doubling viaduct at Pulvermuehle

The new viaduct measuring approximately 242 m will support two new railway tracks.

The project to construct a second railway viaduct next to the Pulvermuehle viaduct will consist of three distinct works, i.e.:

PART 1: CONSTRUCTION OF THE VIADUCT

The new viaduct measuring approximately 242 m will support two new railway tracks with a 4.60 m gap between them. The longitudinal axis of the construction will run parallel to the existing viaduct. The deck will consist of a mixed structure made up of a spatial triangular tube framework with reinforced concrete screed. Pathways on both sides of the future railway lines for use by railway personnel are planned and a noise barrier will be constructed at the outer side of the viaduct.

The deck will rest on abutted pillars at both ends and in the middle on four reinforced concrete pillars, varying between 12 and 24 m in height. The pillars will be hollow in the centre so as to allow easy access to the base and masts of the viaduct.

All abutted and middle pillars will rest on reinforced concrete rods.

PART 2: CONSTRUCTION OF A RIPRAP

The construction of a 275m-long riprap will allow the two new tracks on the new viaduct to be made longer and permit them to re-join the route of the existing tracks on the line Luxembourg-Wasserbillig at kilometre point 1.400. The gap between the two tracks on the viaduct will measure 4.60 m. As it is not possible to make the riprap larger by sloping it, it is necessary to build a riprap ridge consisting of a closed reinforced concrete trapezoidal box. The outer face of the frame will be diagonal and cantilevered, supporting in part a railway track and a pathway for railway personnel.

The construction axis will extend from the scheduled viaduct and will run tangentially to the track of the existing line.

Because the lift on the body of the riprap embankment is weak, it will be preliminarily strengthened by horizontal compaction. All of this will rest on two deep beds filled with reinforced concrete (up to 35 m in length), anchored in the sediment. A noise barrier will be constructed at the outer side of the construction.

To facilitate the construction of the concrete framework and to guarantee horizontal stability, a permanent vertical shield will be put in place behind the construction. The shield will be anchored horizontally and will be of a permanent nature, as it will serve to manage the ground’s horizontal forces pressing on the construction.

PART 3: ROAD TO THE RIGHT OF THE BOULEVARD D’AVRANCHES

The existing road, situated at the north exit of Luxembourg Station, to the right of the Boulevard d’Avranches and further up the road from the viaduct presently crosses only two railway tracks. In the projection, the new construction of approximately 100 m long, supporting the lanes of the Boulevard d’Avranches, will cross four railway tracks. The future third track is an extension of a side track, situated in the Rocade de Bonnevoie tunnel.

The existing bridge must be completely demolished and replaced with a new reinforced concrete construction. The inner mould of the structure will vary. The clearance will vary between 6.50 and 9.24 m. The width will vary between 23 and 29 m. Cable gutters are also planned all along the construction at the foot of the newly cast concrete anti-derailing structures.

The new structures will be cast on the long foundations and partially constructed with double wall elements, reinforced at regular intervals so as to be able to deal with the forces from the bearing beams of the concrete covering.

These beams will consist of partially concrete-wrapped metal HEB profiles. The concrete double walls put between the beams will serve as a permanent casing for the structure.

The north tympanum of the new structure was worked on from an architectural point of view and will be clad in a natural Ernzen stone front. The joints will be cut and the front cleft. The supporting walls will make the structure longer and will form the connection with the new viaduct.

The new construction will be equipped with permanent and emergency lighting, safety and viewing recesses and tunnels for railway signalling cables.

Brochure Expo Pulvermühle

Take a look on our brochure "Expo Pulvermühle" about the construction of the viaduct at Pulvermühle. Do not hesitate to contact us for a tour.

BRO-8pages_FR.pdf

Construction d’un viaduc de doublement au Pulvermühle

​Le nouveau viaduc d'une longueur d'environ 242 mètres supportera deux nouvelles voies ferrées.

Le projet de la construction d’un deuxième viaduc ferroviaire à côté de l’ancien viaduc Pulvermuhle comporte trois ouvrages distincts, à savoir :

 

PARTIE 1 : OUVRAGE DU VIADUC

Le nouveau viaduc d'une longueur d'environ 242 mètres supportera deux nouvelles voies ferrées présentant un entraxe de 4,60 m. L'axe longitudinal de l’ouvrage est parallèle au viaduc existant. Le tablier du nouveau viaduc est constitué d'une structure mixte formée par une charpente tubulaire triangulaire spatiale avec une dalle en béton armé. Des pistes de circulation pour le personnel ferroviaire  sont  prévues  de  part  et  d'autre  des futures voies ferrées. Une paroi antibruit sera installée coté extérieur de l'ouvrage.

Le tablier reposera aux extrémités sur des piles culées et dans sa partie courante sur quatre piles en béton armé d'une hauteur variant de 12 à 24 mètres. Le cœur des piles est creux de manière à permettre un accès vers les sommiers et les appuis.

L'ensemble des piles culées et piles intermédiaires repose sur des pieux forés en béton armé.

PARTIE 2 : OUVRAGE SUR PERRE

L'ouvrage  sur  perré  d'une  longueur  de 275 mètres permet le prolongement des deux nouvelles voies posées sur le nouveau viaduc avec leur raccordement au tracé des voies existantes de la ligne de Luxembourg vers Wasserbillig à hauteur du PK 1,400. L'entraxe des deux voies sur cet ouvrage est de 4,60 m. L'impossibilité d'élargir le perré par talutage rend nécessaire la construction d'un ouvrage en crête de perré qui est constitué d'un caisson fermé trapézoïdal en béton armé. La paroi extérieure de ce cadre est inclinée et est prolongée par un porte-à-faux  supportant partiellement une voie ferrée  et  une  piste  de circulation pour le personnel ferroviaire.

L'axe de cet ouvrage part dans le prolongement du viaduc projeté et se raccorde tangentiellement au tracé de la ligne existante.

En raison de la faible portance du corps du remblai perré, celui-ci sera préalablement conforté au moyen d'un compactage horizontal. L'ensemble du nouvel ouvrage devra reposer sur deux files de pieux forés en béton armé de grande profondeur (longueur jusqu'a 35 m) ancrés dans la marne. Une paroi antibruit est installée coté extérieur de l’ouvrage.

Pour permettre la construction du cadre en béton et pour garantir sa stabilité horizontale, la mise en place d'un blindage vertical permanent à l'arrière de l'ouvrage est nécessaire. Ce  blindage ancré horizontalement aura un caractère définitif, car il est appelé a reprendre les efforts horizontaux des poussées des terre sur l’ouvrage.

 

PARTIE 3 : OUVRAGE ROUTIER SITUE AU DROIT DU BOULEVARD D'AVRANCHES

L'ouvrage routier existant qui est situé à la sortie Nord de la gare de Luxembourg  au droit du boulevard d'Avranches et en amont du viaduc, enjambe actuellement uniquement deux voies ferrées. Dans la situation projetée, le nouvel ouvrage d'une longueur   d'environ   100   mètres   et   qui   supporte   les   chaussées   du   boulevard d'Avranches, devra enjamber quatre voies ferrées. La future troisième voie est un prolongement d'une voie de garage située dans le tunnel de la Rocade de Bonnevoie.

La structure du pont existant doit intégralement être démolie et remplacée par une nouvelle construction en béton armé. Le gabarit intérieur de l'ouvrage est variable. La hauteur libre varie de 6,50 à 9,24 mètres. La largeur varie de 23 à 29 mètres. Au pied des nouveaux voiles des structures anti déraillement en béton faisant également office de caniveaux à câbles sont prévus sur l'ensemble de la longueur de l'ouvrage.

Les  nouveaux  voiles  en  béton  armé  fondés  sur  des  fondations  filantes,  seront réalisés partiellement avec des éléments de pré-murs et seront renforcés à espaces réguliers afin de reprendre les charges des poutres porteuses principales de la dalle de couverture.

Ces poutres sont constituées de profiles métalliques HEB partiellement enrobées de béton. Des pré-dalles en béton posées entre ces poutres feront office de coffrage perdu à la dalle.

Le tympan Nord du nouvel ouvrage a fait l'objet d'un traitement architectural et sera muni d'éléments de parement maçonnés en pierres naturelles en grès d'Ernzen. Les joints seront sciés et la face vue sera clivée. Des murs de soutènement prolongeront l'ouvrage et réaliseront le raccord avec le nouveau viaduc.

La nouvelle construction sera équipée d'éclairages permanents et de secours, de niches de sécurité et de regards et traversées sous voies pour câbles de signalisation.

Brochure Expo Pulvermühle

Consultez notre brochure Expo concernant le chantier de la mise à double voie du viaduc Pulvermühle. N'hésitez pas à nous contacter pour une visite sur site.

Dépliant Expo Viaduc Pulvermuhle

 

 

(dernière modification: 1er décembre 2013)