Doubling of the line Pétange-Luxembourg

​The aim of the project is to increase capacity on the railway line in view of the increase in passenger services between Luxembourg and Pétange and beyond to Virton (Belgium) and Longwy (France) respectively.

The double line was put into service on 5th November 2012. Since 9th December 2012, 99 trains per day are running on the line, as opposed to 49 trains before its de-doubling. A reserve capacity was also created for freight trains, this in case of incidents on the Pétange-Esch-Luxembourg line.

                      

The project also aimed the improvement of the regularity and safety on the line as well as the improvement of services to passengers, in particular those with reduced mobility.

 

The following works were carried out:

    • renewal of the existing track and construction of a second track over a length of 18.1 km;
  • complete renewal of all existing electric traction installations and equipment for the new track in the 2x25 kV 50 Hz system;
  • improvement of the safety on the line by fitting the tracks with the ETCS system (European Train Control System);
  • complete reconstruction of the stops in Bascharage-Sanem, Schouweiler, Dippach-Reckange and Leudelange. These train stops now have ecological P&R parking facilities, bike shelters and parking places for motorcycles.
  • the 5 crossings existing on the line have been abolished or will shortly be abolished;
  • 44 bridges and aqueducts have been reconstructed, adapted or enlarged, of which 3 large projects spanning the A13 (Collectrice du Sud), A6 (Luxembourg - Belgium) and A4 (Luxembourg-Esch-sur-Alzette) motorways;
  • noise barriers have been put up all along the line.

                      

The double track is operational at present, but related works continue.

Vollständiger zweigleisiger Ausbau der Strecke Pétange – Luxemburg

Zweck des Projekts ist die Steigerung der Kapazität der Bahnstrecke im Hinblick auf einen Ausbau der Verkehrsanbindung zwischen Luxemburg und Rodange und darüber hinaus in Richtung Virton (B) bzw. Longwy (F).

Die technische Inbetriebnahme der zweigleisigen Strecke fand am 5. November 2012 statt. Seit dem 9. Dezember 2012 verkehren in der Woche täglich 99 Züge auf der Strecke gegenüber 49 Zügen vor dem zweigleisigen Ausbau. Darüber hinaus wurde eine Reservekapazität für die Güterzüge im Fall einer Betriebsstörung auf der Strecke Pétange – Esch – Bettembourg geschaffen.

                      

Des Weiteren bezweckte das Projekt einen besseren regelmäßigen Verkehrsfluss und eine bessere Verkehrssicherheit auf der Strecke sowie einen kundenfreundlichen, barrierenfreien Zugang.

 

Durchgeführte Arbeiten: 

  • Erneuerung des bestehenden Gleises und Bau eines zweiten Gleises auf einer Länge von 18,1 km;
  • vollständige Erneuerung aller elektrischen Betriebsanlagen und Ausrüstung des neuen Gleises mit dem 2 x 25 kV-50 Hz-System;

  • im Rahmen der Erhöhung der Verkehrssicherheit: Ausrüstung der Strecke mit dem System ETCS (European Train Control System);

  • vollständiger Wiederaufbau der Haltestellen Bascharage-Sanem, Schouweiler, Dippach-Reckange und Leudelange. Diese Haltestellen verfügen jetzt über umweltfreundliche P&R-Parkplätze, Fahrrad-Unterstände und Motorrad-Abstellplätze;

  • die fünf bestehenden Bahnübergänge auf der Strecke wurden oder werden abgebaut;

  • 44 Brücken und Durchlässe wurden wieder aufgebaut bzw. angepasst oder verbreitert, davon drei Großbauwerke über die Autobahnen A13 (Collectrice du Sud), A6 (Luxemburg – Belgien) und A4 (Luxembourg – Esch/Alzette);

  • entlang der Strecke wurden Lärmschutzwände errichtet.

     

                      

Derzeit ist die zweigleisige Strecke in Betrieb, doch die dazugehörigen Arbeiten gehen weiter.